CARA Forum
CARA Forum
 | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics |
Announcements CARA Forum / Announcements /  

Alpha release of macOS 64 bit version of CARA

Author Admin
Admin 

#1 | Posted: 6 Sep 2020 22:18 | Edited by: Admin 
We invested time last week to modify the source code of CARA for 64 bit compatiblity. This is a delicate operation since it is not feasible to have a full test coverage. So it could be that there are still issues. If you want to try, you can download the alpha version from http://cara.nmr-software.org/download/CARA_1.9.1.8a1_macOS64.dmg . Functionally it is supposed to be identical to 1.9.1.7. Please respond to this post to tell us whether it works on your specific macOS version or not.

Author priyanka0210
Registered 

#2 | Posted: 7 Sep 2020 08:36 
Dear Dr. Keller,

Thank you so much for spending time on it. I understand there is no funding yet you took out time means a lot. I downloaded the version and it works. I am yet to see if there are any minor issues but overall I could install cara and run it on my machine.

Thanks again,

Priyanka Aggarwal

Author Aldin0
Registered 

#3 | Posted: 7 Sep 2020 10:10 
Dear Dr. Keller,
thank you so much for your effort on this. It is really appreciated.
I've just installed it and, so far so good. If I find any issues I'll post them here.

With best regards,
Aldino

Author rathnea
Registered 

#4 | Posted: 19 Apr 2021 09:53 
Dear Dr. Keller,

thank you very much for taking the time to prepare all these updates! I have tried to use the latest version (CARA_1.9.1.8a2_macOS64.dmg) on the macOS Big Sur (11.2.3.), unfortunately the loading of project crashes - it does not work with either Project import from sequence/New Project, then sequence import. It will let me select the sequence, but it is not loaded in and as a consequence the Project is not created.
This is just to provide you with the information, I of course understand that it is extremely difficult to cater for possible updates. I have later managed to get the sequence inside by creating a new Project without uploading the sequence right away - this way the project menu was created and I could append a chain ("1") in the sequence menu - so far, it works.

With Best Regards,

Adriana

Author Admin
Admin 

#5 | Posted: 19 Apr 2021 12:30 
Welcome; sorry to hear it doesn't work on Big Sur. Are you using one of these new "Apple Silicon" (i.e. ARM based, no longer Intel) based Macs? Or did you just upgrade your old Mac to Big Sur? Can you confirm, that the mentioned feature worked on your machine before the upgrade? Could you please attach the crash report generated by the operating system (when the app crashes you usually get an Apple dialog with technical information which you can save in a file).

Author Aldin0
Registered 

#6 | Posted: 19 Apr 2021 12:52 
Hi,
Just to say that I have the same issue as reported, i.e., if I try to create a new project by importing a sequence, it does nothing... I use also the same workaround as Adriana... In my case I have an Intel-based Mac and only updated to Big Sur. Unfortunatly I have not used it much, so I cannot report on other bugs (but it does crash from time to time, although I do not know what triggers it).

Thank you for your efforts.
Regards,
Aldino

Author Admin
Admin 

#7 | Posted: 19 Apr 2021 13:40 
@Aldin0

Ok, I see. Did this issue only start with the upgrade to Big Sur, or did you also observe it before (on which OS version)?

Author Aldin0
Registered 

#8 | Posted: 19 Apr 2021 13:56 
Admin

If I'm not mistaken it was already present with Catalina.
But has I said, I have not been using it very often, so I could be wrong...

Announcements CARA Forum / Announcements / Alpha release of macOS 64 bit version of CARA Top
Your Reply Click this icon to move up to the quoted message
 

 ?
Only registered users are allowed to post here. Please, enter your username/password details upon posting a message, or register first.
 
  CARA Forum Powered by Bulletin Board Script miniBB ®